I’m Changing My Approach

My approach to blogging, that is.

I’ve had a number of different blogs over the past ten years or so, and every time, my enthusiasm for the project eventually runs out. I’ve come to realize that this is because what starts as an exciting commitment to writing or sharing my thoughts inevitably starts to feel like work.

Inevitably, I start out strong, but in the interest of gaining readers (or keeping the few I actually have), I reach a point where I feel pressure to post regularly. As a result, my interest in the things I’m writing about wanes. When I don’t post, I feel guilty, and then I eventually give up altogether. “If I’m not posting at least a couple of times per week and build a strong readership,” I think, “it’s not worth maintaining the blog at all.”

Now, I basically didn’t post at all for the last several months of the school year, and I’ll blame this almost entirely on baseball. Teaching is work enough, but add in two-plus hours of practice/games every day, and the opportunity for blogging is essentially nil. So I didn’t. This is the proverbial moment of truth. Do I let this blog fade into oblivion like the others, or do I make a change?

I’d like to do better, but from here on out, I’m going to give myself a pass. In keeping with my desire to use this blog as “a forum where I can ‘wonder aloud,’ so to speak, about the things that arouse my curiosity,” I’m going to write when I feel like it and try not to care who might be reading. It would be great, of course, to get feedback from others, but as I think about what I want out of blogging, I realize that I see it more as an introspective tool than a connective one.

On that note, right now, my curiosity is particularly aroused by the coup that has taken place at my alma mater, the University of Virginia. To call it a coup is to be deliberately provocative, but I also think it’s apt because of the way that the Board of Visitors has essentially forsaken its public stewardship role and its fiduciary responsibility to a number of constituencies (students, faculty, staff, alumni, donors, and taxpayers of the Commonwealth of Virginia). Despite the fact that U.Va. is a public university, the Board is acting as if the University is a private corporation–which, I’m afraid, may be their ultimate vision for the institution.

Objectivity is admittedly somewhat difficult for me given my connection to the school, but I believe that how this episode plays out will have all sorts of ramifications for education and society, not only in Virginia, but across the nation as well. Perhaps I’ll write more later. If I feel like it.

1 comment
  1. When I finally decided to write for myself, size of audience be damned, was when I was able to actually write regularly. I hope it works out for you too.

Leave a Reply

